Author Interview #13 with Tim Walker

Site Title

Tim Profile PictureQ1. Tell me about yourself – biography, career, likes, dislikes, hobbies etc…anything you would like to share about yourself? Any fun, interesting facts? Please insert a photograph if possible.
Thanks for inviting me to your blog! I’m Tim Walker, an independent author based in Windsor, UK. My career background is in marketing, journalism and publications management.
My creative writing journey began in 2014 as a consequence of a battle with cancer (I’m over it now!). I had to stop work and spent a lot of time at home. During this time, I decided to do an online creative writing course and started writing short stories, based around history and current affairs in the area where I live. I experimented with self-publishing and produced my first book of short stories, Thames Valley Tales, in 2015. In September 2017 I published a second collection of short stories – Postcards from London. These…

View original post 2,104 more words

Advertisements

An Extract from Arthur Dux Bellorum by Tim Walker

My annual appearance on Linda’s Book Bag – one of the biggest and best indie book platforms…

Linda's Book Bag

Arthur Dux Bellorum ebook cover.jpg

I can’t believe it’s almost exactly a year since Tim Walker was last on Linda’s Book Bag. On that occasion, Tim was introducing his book Uther’s Destiny in a post you can see here. Tim had previously written a fabulous guest post about fiction and fear when the second book in his A Light in the Dark Ages series, Ambrosius: Last of the Romans, was published and you can read that post here.

I’m delighted that today Tim has allowed me to bring you the opening extract from his latest book Arthur Dux Bellorum.

Arthur Dux Bellorum was published on 1st March  2019 and is available for purchase here.

779415C6353A46A88A4BE43E3C03AAF5[6779415]

Arthur Dux Bellorum

Arthur Dux Bellorum ebook cover.jpg

From the ruins of post-Roman Britain, a warrior arises to unite a troubled land…

Britain in the late Fifth Century is a troubled place – riven with tribal infighting and beset by…

View original post 947 more words

Arthur, Dux Bellorum

NEW RELEASE – March 2019 – Arthur Dux Bellorum by Tim Walker

Arthur book launch ad

Available in paperback: http://mybook.to/ArthurPaperback

Kindle: http://mybook.to/Arthur

ibook, Kobo, Nook, other: https://books2read.com/u/bzLjRn

From the ruins of post-Roman Britain, a warrior arises to unite a troubled land

Britain in the late Fifth Century is a troubled place – riven with tribal infighting and beset by invaders in search of plunder and settlement. King Uther is dead, and his daughter, Morgana, seizes the crown for her infant son, Mordred. Merlyn’s attempt to present Arthur as the true son and heir of Uther is scorned, and the bewildered teenager finds himself in prison. Here our story begins…
Arthur launch facebook storyArthur finds friends in unexpected quarters and together they flee. Travelling through a fractured landscape of tribal conflict and suspicion, they attempt to stay one step ahead of their pursuers, whilst keeping a wary eye on Saxon invaders menacing the shoreline. Arthur’s reputation as a fearsome warrior grows as he learns the harsh lessons needed to survive and acquire the skills of a dux bellorum, a lord of war.
Tim Walker’s Arthur Dux Bellorum is a fresh look at the Arthurian legend, combining myth, history and gripping battle scenes. Although in a series, it can be read as a standalone novel.

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Dux Bellorum.

#historicalfiction #histfic #arthurian  #Arthur #booklaunch #bookseries

The Danger Of Dirty Links

Clean up those links… 🔗

WordyNerdBird

With all the attention given among the Indie community to the removal of book reviews by Amazon, I’m amazed at the number of authors who still post dirty links to their books on social media. This is a rookie-level mistake that can actually do more harm than good. 

A dirty link helps the algorithm at Amazon to determine if there are connections between author and reader that might suggest collusion or partiality.. Even if a review is from a verified purchase, a simple connection via a shared link can be enough to make them suspect that it’s not unbiased or from an unrelated party.

If the link used by multiple customers can be traced directly back to the author, that’s one of the reasons they will start flagging and eventually removing reviews. 

The simple solution is to ensure your links are clean before you post them.

A dirty link occurs…

View original post 270 more words

Book Review: ‘Abandoned’ by Tim Walker

This is where the series starts… book four is coming out in March…

Book Squirrel

Set at the end of the Roman occupation of Britain, ‘Abandoned’ tells the story of the settlement of Calleva Atrebatum, and the determination of its people to resist the fearsome invading  Saxon raiding parties who threaten their home and their lives. 

This is a story of bravery and commitment, and of townsfolk uniting for a common cause. The danger they face is very real, and in their determination to survive and overcome, the reader witnesses both the best and worst of human nature. 

The story gives us a realistic and thought-provoking view of a period of history that is little-known to most, and foreshadows the rest of Walker’s series which continues to tell the story of post-Roman England and those who seek to  not only live there but also to control it.

Walker’s storytelling is fluid and lively, full of action, adventure and intrigue. The cast of characters is varied…

View original post 78 more words

Uther’s Destiny by Tim Walker

The latest review of Uther’s Destiny, and it’s fair and positive! The next book in the series, Arthur Dux Bellorum, will be launched on 1st March 2019… so watch out for it!

Historical Fiction reviews

38925269BLURB

Late fifth century Britannia recoils in shock at the murder of charismatic High King, Ambrosius Aurelianus, and looks to his brother and successor, Uther, to continue his work in leading the resistance to barbarian invaders. Uther’s destiny as a warrior king seems set until his world is turned on its head when his burning desire to possess the beautiful Ygerne leads to conflict. Could the fate of his kingdom hang in the balance as a consequence?

Court healer and schemer, Merlyn, sees an opportunity in Uther’s lustful obsession to fulfil the prophetic visions that guide him. He is encouraged on his mission by druids who align their desire for a return to ancient ways with his urge to protect the one destined to save the Britons from invaders and lead them to a time of peace and prosperity. Merlyn must use his wisdom and guile to thwart the machinations…

View original post 312 more words